Thought for the day: historical amnesia

http://steamboatinstitute.org

Senator Ben Sasse of Nebraska

“Your always one generation away from the loss of freedom.”

“41% of Americans under 35 polled, believe the First Amendment is DANGEROUS.”

“In the Carter administration, the average duration at a firm was STILL 26 years.”

“The number one issue of concern in New Hampshire right now is drug abuse.”

Recommended Reading:

Sam Harris: Free Will

Susan Martinez: Delusions in Science and Spirituality

Daniel Wegner: Illusions of Conscious Will

Question: What will a robust defense of the first amendment look like in the future?

Random comment: President Barack Obama and Japanese Prime Minister Shinzo Abe are touring Pearl Harbor together. I’ve just started crying. I see them walking together. Two men strangers to one another and to me. Brought into my experience by the daughters of my maternal uncles and as men influencing the world that my cousins and I have inherited from our father’s. I see my younger self and little girl fights about who wouldn’t share toys, who said something mean, who is the real tattle “tale” and I see Lindsey and Ana’s fathers, both having lived in Japan, both holding different levels of professional practice in mental health. And then there is MY DADDY…and I wonder. I wonder about De Tocqueville and the admission he made about the surprise Europeans then had about voluntary uncohersed American community involvement and action. I see the Prime Minister and his last name and wonder not if, but when Paris Syndrome will descend upon the next generation?

image

I look at President Obama, and it so happens I can admit that I appreciate Cspan’s programming choice to broadcast Romeo and Juliet’s mock trial immediately after the story above, in anticipated acknowledgement of viewers such as myself and others.

image

Senator Sasse is a Historian by training. I attended my father’s Alma Matter where he majored in History and had a professor who it could be argued, “indoctrinated” him with an eye on a narrow glance at European American historiography and governments from DeTocqueville. The Senator made a simple an accurate philosophical statement that “society” predates government.

And yet I’ve paused. I can’t bring my mind turn some inner corner, as if doing so would negate my own experience or being. And I’m almost confused…as if a question is missing. As if a memory somehow forgotten or misplaced is preventing me from recognition of a crucial difference that requires and deserves respect and the perceived absence inhibits me and my understanding and awareness.

Ah! The Cspan audience is now voting on whom has a greater liability: Friar Lawrence or “the parents” in Romeo and Juliet. Fittingly, red and blue are symbolic tokens to denote each vote.

Deep Christmas morning thoughts.

Merry Christmas Everyone. May we all appreciate our unique blessings, individually, culturally and as human beings. Namaste.

The audience freed Friar Lawrence from liability (red chips) and indicted the PARENTS (blue chips.)

Leave a Reply

