Peace Corp Application Update

In case I haven’t shared this news, I have applied to the Peace Corps. Today I submitted my health history form and received a reply about what countries I can list as my top preferences based on my health history. I was also given the option to choose what kind of work I would like to do. I chose to leave it open ended and as “Wellness” in general. Given I have an interdisciplinary background, they may be able to use my skill set in several areas and of course, learning new skills would be a plus.

“Ashley

Thank you for completing your application to serve as a Peace Corps Volunteer. Your next step is to tell us what you would like to do in the Peace Corps. You are welcome to apply for any country of service where we can support your medical needs, and based on your Health History Form, you may choose from the list of countries below”:

  • Albania,
  • Armenia,
  • Belize,
  • Benin,
  • Botswana,
  • Burkina Faso,
  • Cambodia,
  • Cameroon,
  • China,
  • Colombia,
  • Costa Rica,
  • Dominican Republic,
  • Eastern Caribbean,
  • Ecuador,
  • El Salvador,
  • Fiji,
  • FSM-Palau,
  • Ghana,
  • Guatemala,
  • Guinea,
  • Guyana,
  • Jamaica,
  • Jordan,
  • Kosovo,
  • Liberia,
  • Macedonia,
  • Madagascar,
  • Malawi,
  • Mexico,
  • Moldova,
  • Mongolia,
  • Morocco,
  • Mozambique,
  • Nicaragua,
  • Panama,
  • Paraguay,
  • Peru,
  • Philippines,
  • Rwanda,
  • Samoa,
  • Senegal,
  • South Africa,
  • Swaziland,
  • Thailand,
  • Togo,
  • Tonga,
  • Uganda,
  • Vanuatu,
  • Zambia

This is a pretty diverse list. To be honest, I chose Asian countries as my first choice due to wellness tourism. However, South America and the Caribbean are also a hub for eco tourism and I do have some limited Spanish ability though I don’t know how to use it!

Eastern Europe has always fascinated me, especially anything that gets close or into old Ottoman territory. That may be due to the fact that my step grandmother who is a retired Methodist minister had an associate who was a Russian Orthodox priest or at least Eastern Orthodox as I recall. He was active in the area of Georgia many years ago and gave me an Eastern blessing. It reminded me of how Wiccans do things in hindsight years later. The central drama of religion under communism played out in his life when he was shot by the KGB and left for dead. He woke up, wounded and got away.

At any rate, I need to go where I can use my degree first and foremost. I would love to be in the Pacific region but I am sure those are plum assignments. The idea of Morocco appeals but that may be because I have seen Casablanca and The English Patient one too many times! Macedonia appeals to the part of me that loves all things Greek and Roman. Asia for similar reasons. Will wait and see what develops. Africa however is out across the board and I am cautious about some areas of Central Asia at the moment as well as the Balkans but would consider Albania and Armenia if it came down to it.

Everyone Be Well!

Leave a Reply

