Monday Question – How Would You Introduce A Teenager To Perfume?

I think this is a great question for anyone to start considering more deeply around the age of 25. When your younger than that, your playing and trying a bit of this or that and experimenting with the effect of certain scents not only on your own perceptions but of the reactions others have to the scents you choose. For instance, I had a used bottle of Shalimar given to me when I was 16 or 17. I was thrilled because it was a ‘grown up’ brand. I wore Tribecca, Giorgio, Liz Claiborne – nothing more expensive than about $45.00 until I hit 25 or 26 and even then, until I hit my thirties, Boucheron was the most expensive perfume I ever bought and wore. I still have a bottle of Boucheron I keep, but I wear Coco Channel. I also keep a bottle of Nanette LePour on hand and I need to reinvest in another Aromatics Elixir to keep a spicy scent.

Olfactoria's Travels

Imagine you have a daughter, son, niece, nephew, godchild or other young person you are close to. How would you introduce them to the world of fine fragrance beyond Britney Spears and Justin Bieber?

Which line do you find especially good as a “starter line” into niche perfumery?

What about the classics? Too much too soon or just the way to go?

How would you kindle appreciation of the art of perfumery in the next generation?

(Thanks to reader Empliau for the idea to this question.)

question-mark

My Answer:

I think perfume, just like art, or oenology or any kind of cultural interest, even fashion, is a thing that warrants and profits from an introduction, ideally by someone who is passionate about it.

Niche lines that are great starting points on any individual journey into perfume are the ones that are close to the mainstream in the sense that they do not demand too…

View original post 115 more words

Leave a Reply

